YouTube- The World’s Most Popular Online Video Site

youtube

YouTube is the world’s most popular online video site, with users watching 4 billion hours worth of video each month, and uploading 72 hours worth of video every minute.

Since its inception in 2005, YouTube has grown from a site devoted to amateur videos to one that distributes original content. It has also helped jump-start the careers of  artists such as Justin Bieber.

YouTube was founded by Chad Hurley, Steve Chen, and Jawed Karim, who were all early employees of PayPal. YouTube began when these PayPal employees started to create a video-sharing website on which users can upload, share, and view content. The Internet domain name http://www.youtube.com was activated on February 15, 2005.

During the summer of 2006, YouTube was one of the fastest growing sites on the Web,  uploading more than 65,000 new videos and delivering 100 million video views per day in the month of July. It was ranked the fifth most popular website, far out-pacing even MySpace’s rate of growth. The website averaged nearly 20 million visitors per month, where around 44% were female, 56% male, and the 12- to 17-year-old age group was dominant. 

On October 9, 2006, it was announced that the company would be purchased by Google for US $1.65 billion in stock. The purchase agreement between Google and YouTube came after YouTube presented three agreements with media companies in an attempt to escape the threat of copyright-infringement lawsuits. YouTube planned to continue operating independently, with its co-founders and 67 employees working within Google. The deal to acquire YouTube closed on November 13, and was, at the time, Google’s second largest acquisition.

YouTube launched its Partner Program to let people get paid for their viral content in May 2007. This was the first time YouTube made it possible for everyday people to turn their hobbies into a business. About a year later, the most successful users were earning six-figure incomes from YouTube, The New York Times reported in 2008.

In July 2007, YouTube teamed up with CNN to host the presidential debate for the 2008 election cycle. Seven out of the 16 presidential candidates announced their campaigns via YouTube. In July, YouTube and CNN hosted their first presidential debate, featuring citizen-submitted video questions. This was also the first time in presidential debate history where user-generated video drove the debate.

In January of 2009, YouTube started renting movies. YouTube’s entrance into Netflix and Apple’s turf marked the first time it became clear YouTube was trying to be more than just an amateur video-sharing site. It started with a few movies that did well at the Sundance Film Festival, and has since grown to offer movies from companies including Paramount, Disney, NBC/Universal, Sony, and Warner Brothers.

YouTube has only continued to grow in past years. Other social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter have started allowing more video content, but YouTube, the grandfather of the industry, isn’t worried about being pushed aside. In fact, YouTube’s head of content says that this is helpful to YouTube.

Discussion:

  1. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
  2. What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
  3. Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
  4. Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
  5. With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?

 

Author: Emily Rankin

Senior at Ouachita Baptist University, daughter of the King, Streamline Youth Intern, singer/songwriter, lover of all things southern, sunny, and bright!

54 thoughts on “YouTube- The World’s Most Popular Online Video Site”

  1. 1. No
    2. I like to watch funny videos mostly. Sometimes I will watch how to videos if I need to learn more about something.
    3.N/A
    4.I actually did once. I think it was a great idea– Especially when Netflix might not have something you really are wanting to watch.
    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    -I don’t really think it will effect the active users of youtube as much. A lot of videos that play on Facebook are actually linked from youtube, but the problem is that Facebook users might not be visiting youtube as often because they can view the video within face book’s app or website.

    Like

    1. Definitely agree with the idea that YouTube will not lose users due to Facebook/Twitter videos. A pretty good amount of videos I watch are connected to YouTube, but Facebook, or other social medias, may get smart and make all of the videos independent to their site.

      Like

    2. I said the exact same thing about YouTube not being effected by Facebook. I watch a lot of videos on YouTube through Facebook, but I still go to YouTube a lot to watch the videos.

      Like

  2. 1. I do not have an acccount.
    2. I pull up music videos on YouTube if I can find the song elsewhere, or I watch an occasional tutorial video.
    3. No
    4. I have never rented a movie on YouTube. Between Netflix and Amazon Prime, I have never had the need to rent from YouTube, but others looking for a more unique movie may find the feature beneficial.
    5. While a lot of the videos are independent to the social media they play on, quite a few are connected to YouTube, so business is driven to the site.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the response Ali. Great point about videos being independent to the social media site they play on. I think that is a great way to ensure that business is still driven towards YouTube.

      Like

  3. I have a YouTube account, although I don’t use it at all.

    I watch a lot of clash of clans videos and some black ops videos.

    I had two videos of me doing a science project and another was me dancing to a song and making a fool of myself.

    No, I don’t think I will ever rent a movie off of YouTube and I don’t think it is a good idea for YouTube to compete with Netflix at all.

    I don’t think it YouTube will ever decline because so many video gamers continue to stream on it and it will continue to thrive.

    Like

    1. My brother watches the same type of videos all the time to find video game cheats and things like that. It’s so amazing how YouTube can cover so many different interests.

      Like

    2. You’re so right! My brother uses youtube for video game help a lot, and I think there are multiple audiences that use it for a specific reason as well. YouTube might decrease in overall popularity, but it will still be used by those who find it necessary.

      Like

    3. Video Games are definitely huge for YouTube but a lot of them are moving to live-streaming websites like Twitch. YouTube still has a huge influx of educational, comedy, and analytical videos though so I don’t see it declining for a long time.

      Like

  4. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
    I do have a YoutTube account, but I rarely comment on videos. I mainly use it to subscribe to favorite channels and see videos I like.

    What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
    A large variety! Mainly lightsaber fights, 8-bit remixes of popular songs, ASL song interpretations, and Vine compilations.

    Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
    I posted an ASL interpretation of “Try” by P!nk as well as a few Star Wars discussion videos and a video project I did for Math for the Liberal Arts.

    Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
    Never rented a movie from YouTube, but it could be handy especially since every smart TV, gaming console, and streaming device has a way to access YouTube. Could be more congested than Netflix, Apple, etc. since a YouTube account also includes your subscriptions to channels and a YouTube Red paid account is already kind of ridiculous.

    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    Not really. YouTube’s main competition has been Vimeo, and even then more people are loyal to YouTube. Facebook and Twitter’s videos are notable, but are side projects compared to YouTube’s video focus.

    Like

      1. Bekah, ASL stands for American Sign Language. The videos I watch are translations of popular songs into ASL!

        Like

    1. Matthew, thank you for your response. I love that you watch/have created ASL interpretations. That is really cool. I have never watched any of those on YouTube, but I think it’s great that those are available to people.

      Like

    2. I didn’t even think of Vimeo when I was thinking about YouTube’s competitors, so good point. I think overall though, YouTube definitely has a much bigger reach. I’ve never seen the numbers so I could be totally wrong, but just from personal experience.

      Like

  5. I have a YouTube account and I use it occasionally.

    When I do watch videos on YouTube, I tend to watch really random videos that I find on Reddit – many of these are educational.

    I used to post videos on YouTube all the time. These were video blogs and have all since been marked private – for fear of public embarrassment.

    I have never rented a movie from YouTube. I think this feature definitely helped maintain competition with Netflix and Apple, although it changed the online video watching game – making YouTube more than just an amateur video sharing site.

    I think Facebook is ultimately trying to eliminate the need for YouTube altogether. My guess is that Facebook will continue to grow, although the effects of this on YouTube is uncertain. Facebook has definitely become a hub for funny videos in recent years- which is what YouTube started as and may be drifting from.

    Like

    1. I think YouTube is just too broad though. If Facebook were a site committed to video, then I could understand it pushing YouTube into decline, but the problem is that YouTube is the only site that is expressly concerned with uploading re-playable videos.

      Like

    2. I don’t think Facebook will eliminate the need for YouTube, though it may cause a shift in popularity. YouTube offers the ability to search for specific videos pretty easily, and if this feature is available on Facebook, I’ve never seen it used. YouTube is also solely dedicated to video sharing, where Facebook promotes other types of media as well. Video sharing has definitely become more popular on Facebook in recent years, though.

      Like

  6. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
    I do have one and it stays logged in but really I just watch videos which you don’t have to have an account to do

    What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
    Singing!

    Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
    Yes basically ever summer for the past like 4 years we have made a family summer vacation music video!

    Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
    No I haven’t

    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    Not really I look up videos all the time, but mostly just covers of songs so I think people will continue to post these

    Like

    1. That is so fun that you make a vacation music video! I think it is cool that YouTube is a way for you to go back and watch them.

      Like

      1. hahaah yes! Can’t wait until I am married with kids (if that happens ha) and to go back and let them watch them!!

        Like

    2. Thanks for the comment, Bekah. I am just like you in that I mainly watch YouTube videos of people singing or doing covers of songs. I think its so fun that you make vacation music videos with your family. I love that!

      Like

      1. Yes singing videos rock! Theres just Something about a good singer! Ive seen some of you and your sisters videos! Make more! I love them!

        Like

    3. That’s so cool that your family makes summer vacation music videos! Do y’all make the videos private or do you let it be public?

      Like

    4. My friend and her family makes YouTube videos of them with every holiday that comes along of either them doing karoke or playing instruments.

      Like

      1. Aw thats awesome! I need to watch them! Family summer vacation videos is my favorite part about our trips!

        Like

    5. I can’t imagine making a video with my family, but that seems like a lot of fun. Singing videos are also great. Sometimes I find myself watching all of the best America’s Got Talent auditions.

      Like

      1. Making fam vacation videos is seriously my fav thing about our vacations! haha its hilarious! People stare at us often though because we are just like breaking it down on the public beach! haha!!
        Yes!! AGT videos! Love me some of those!

        Like

  7. I do not have a YouTube account, but I used to use the site fairly often. I would watch a lot of funny videos with friends, music videos, and videos recommended by friends. I have not posted videos of my own, but had a friend in high school who became famous on YouTube for her make-up tutorials. I have never rented a movie from YouTube, but I think it was a wise move. However, I think it still needs to grow in popularity because I honestly did not even know you could do that! I think YouTube popularity will decline became Facebook and Twitter offers so much content, but the good thing about YouTube is that you can specifically look up a video that you want to watch instead of watching whatever is on your feed.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the response Haley. That is so cool that you had a friend become famous on YouTube. I definitely agree with you on the fact that its great that you can specifically search for the video you are wanting to watch on YouTube whereas you can’t really do that on Facebook or Twitter.

      Like

    2. One of the main benefits of having an account is that you are able to subscribe to the channels you like, and then they show up in your feed. You would be able to recieve notifications when your favorite people put out new content.

      Like

  8. I think I have a YouTube account, but I don’t remember what my login info is.

    I like to watch music videos of my favorite artists, Conan clips, Celebrity Carpool, Jimmy Kimmel clips and Jimmy Fallon clips. Especially Fallon’s lip singing battles.

    I have never posted a video to YouTube

    I have never rented a movie through YouTube. I think that it’s not going to hurt the site. I’m sure they have loyal supporters who would rather rent movies through them than buy accounts with Netflix and Apple

    No, anytime I see a video on Facebook or Twitter almost always I am directed back towards the YouTube app. I don’t think YouTube is going to be affected at all by video content from other sites.

    Like

    1. I love Jimmy Fallon’s YouTube channel and the Carpool Karaoke videos! I think YouTube gives late night shows like that an opportunity to extend their reach beyond just their TV show, as they produce viral videos pretty regularly that would otherwise just be shown on TV.

      Like

  9. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
    I don’t have an account, but I do watch YouTubers religiously!
    What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
    Makeup tutorials, vlogs, room tours. The usual girl stuff.
    Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
    Nope
    Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
    I have not, and I didn’t even know you could do that!
    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    No, because Facebook is more user oriented, whereas YouTube is, but it has a widespread topic coverage at the access of anyone.

    Like

  10. – Yes I do have a YouTube account. Actually I just made one for class not too long ago so I don’t use it often.
    – I usually watch the latest music videos and sometimes funny clips that my friends tag me in either on Facebook or Instagram.
    – I posted a video last week, but it was dealing with a class assignment.
    – I have never rented a movie from YouTube. I don’t think that it would interfere with Netflix or anything because I think there will still be features that they each are missing that the other one might have.
    – No I don’t think it will.

    Like

  11. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
    I probably use YouTube every day, it is one of my favorite Social Media sites.
    What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
    I watch anything! Science, comedy, product reviews, and anything that catches my attention
    Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
    I have never posted anything.
    Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
    I haven’t. I think the money they get from sales doesn’t have to be that much for the types of movies they license so it was probably a smart decision.
    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    No. Facebook has easier access for niche groups. Also, Facebook doesn’t have enough dedicated video content providers.

    Like

    1. I’ve never actually seen the movie rental feature on YouTube so i’m wondering what kind of movie selection they have. If it’s just off movies I wonder what kind of profit it would really bring in

      Like

  12. I don’t have a YouTube account, but I watch videos on the site pretty frequently. I watch all kinds of videos, but most of the stuff I end up watching is clips from shows like Jimmy Fallon or SNL. I can’t say that I’ve ever uploaded any videos myself, but I can say they’d be hilarious if I had. I’ve never rented a movie from YouTube, as I use Netflix or Redbox if I’m looking to watch a movie. I think it’s a wise move on YouTube’s part because it brings in extra money at relatively little cost to them. I don’t think that video sharing on Facebook or Twitter will cause any decline on YouTube–YouTube is a site solely dedicated to video sharing, where Facebook and Twitter place their emphasis on other types of media as well.

    Like

  13. 1. I have a YouTube account through my youth group that we would use to post funny videos for the kids to watch, but it’s technically my account.
    2. My YouTube history is pretty much all songs that pop in my head that I want to listen to immediately without paying for. As far as watching videos, I think Facebook is where I go for that.
    3. Like I said, the videos i’ve posted have been advertsiements for church events, or funny videos for the youth. So there are even videos on there of me and the youth pastor dressed as girls sipping tea, talking about an upcoming DNow.
    4. I think the movie rental feature is pretty pointless, because for any movie you can rent, you could find on YouTube for free.
    5.I know personally the only time I watch videos is when they pop up on facebook. I don’t google videos anymore. So I think over time this could cause YouTube to slide down, as Facebook continues to grow.

    Like

  14. Do you have a YouTube account? How often do you use it?
    I did but I hardly ever use it anymore!
    What types of videos do you watch on YouTube?
    I love to watch funny videos, how to tutorials, and music videos!
    Have you ever posted any videos of your own on YouTube? If so, describe what kinds of videos they were.
    I did one time. I just made a test video of a phone in my house ringing. It was no big deal and was only 15 seconds long. However, a famous YouTuber Shane Dawson found it and used it in one of his videos. The video had almost 300,000 views and other people used it in their films as a sound bit. It was my literal 15 seconds of fame.
    Have you ever rented a movie from YouTube? Do you think adding this feature was wise with the competition from sites like Netflix and Apple?
    I have not and yes I suppose it is but I’m not sure if it actual does very well. If it sells then that’s great! Otherwise, it might be best to leave it off.
    With Facebook and Twitter beginning to produce more video content, do you think that this will cause the use of YouTube to decline? Why or why not?
    I do not because the videos are most of the time coming directly from YouTube.

    Like

Leave a Reply

