Periscope: Live Streaming From Your Phone

perpsssse

Periscope is a tool that allows users to live stream directly from their phones no matter where they are. Currently there is no desktop version and Periscope exists solely as an app for iPhone and Android users.

Periscope was developed by Kayvon Beykpour and Joe Bernstein. They came up with the idea when when Beykpour was traveling in Istanbul where protests broke out. Beykpour thought that Twitter was excellent for reading about what was happening, but that he wanted to see what was happening as well.

The company was started under the name “Bounty” in February of 2015. They raised $1.5 million from Founder Collective, Scott Belsky, Maveron, Google Ventures, Menlo Ventures, Bessemer, Stanford – StartX and Sam Shank in April of 2014. Twitter acquired the company in January of 2015 before the company launched. There it was renamed and modified to compete with a rival company called Meerkat.

Since its launch, Periscope has reached over 10 million accounts, was named Apple’s 2015 iPhone App of the Year and has been featured on “The Late Show with Steven Colbert.” Periscope can be described as a live streaming app.

It allows you to use your phone camera to live stream what you are doing or what you are seeing. People can tweet out a link to their live stream and viewers can tap on the picture they are seeing to award the streamer “hearts.” Viewers receive 500 hearts every time they log in. You can also comment on a stream you like. A lot of popular vloggers from YouTube use it to answer any questions that their fan base has. Before Periscope, streamers had to use a computer in order to live stream, but now it is completely doable only using your phone.

Since Periscope is still young, a lot of people still don’t know about it, and the statistics for its user base are constantly changing. A lot of young people, from what statistics show, don’t use or have never used Periscope. Older people, 25 to 30, use it to connect with content creators and ask them questions. Periscope is currently rising in usage, but it has yet to be determined if that user base will continue to expand, rather than plateau. Another problem is that people may not know what to stream about. Though it may be used occasionally to show people breaking news, like it was in the Mayweather vs. Pacquiao fight, it is often used by the quasi-famous for Q&A’s. One thing is certain, it is not used often for how Beykpour and Bernstein intended.

Questions:

  • Do you use Periscope?
  • Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
  • If you don’t, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
  • Do you have any friends or family who use it?
33 thoughts on “Periscope: Live Streaming From Your Phone”

  1. Do you use Periscope?
    -No I don’t.
    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    – I’m not sure that I’m super comfortable with the idea of making a live stream. I just feel like it is a little more invasive since anything could happen live.
    If you don’t, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
    -I really don’t know… I think I would probably just use it at events I’m attending to show people what is going on there or something like that.
    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    -Not that I know of.

    Like

    1. I agree that this does seem invasive. I would have to research how many privacy control options are offered by Periscope.

      Like

    2. I agree with you on the invasiveness. I think it would be very easy to share too much information with a live stream. Not something I’m comfortable with!

      Like

      1. It’s very interesting to see the responses concerning privacy. While it may be that Periscope is an invasive platform, you are able to control the extent to which it is invasive. I can definitely understand, though, why it is not popular with older people.

        Like

    3. I agree that it seems a little invasive! I’m not sure I even understood what Periscope was until I read this blog, so now I realize how much access that gives viewers to someone’s post!

      Like

    4. I agree with you about the invasiveness. The idea of broadcasting my personal life for anyone to watch kind of creeps me out.

      Like

  2. 1. I do not.
    2. I’m not completely open to the idea of having a personal live stream. I wasn’t really open to the idea of Snapchat before it was popular either, so I may change my mind in the future.
    3. I like to cook a lot, so I guess I could make one focused on cooking. I would also probably like to use it for its intended use of filming events.
    4. I don’t have any friends or family that openly use this.

    Like

    1. I agree with you on not really being a fan of Snapchat when it first became popular. I didn’t really start using it until I was pressured by more of my friends. I feel like if my friends got the Periscope app the same thing would probably happen.

      Like

      1. It feels like social media is starting to become more and more focused on sharing every detail of your personal life. I was turned off to Snapchat at first too because I thought it was weird to share pictures and videos of everything you are doing.

        Like

  3. -No, but I have an account.
    -I have thought about it, but i’ve been waiting for a good moment to post something.
    -I would enjoy posting about concerts or events I go to so that other people could feel as if they were there too.
    -I have tons of friends who use it. In fact, the whole staff at my home church has an account and they live stream church related events all the time so that others can be involved in the experience even if they couldn’t make it to the actual event.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you mentioned that you know people that use it, so we can see how it is actually utilized. Love hearing that this media is being used through the church!

      Like

    2. I had no idea that it was being used to live stream church, but it makes perfect sense to do so. If it means that I don’t have to get out of bed, I’m all for it.

      Like

    3. The pastor of a church I interned at will use it to live stream church events as well! The concept of live streaming church seemed strange to me at first but it makes sense.

      Like

  4. No.

    I have thought about doing a stream like thing. For like the video games I play on my ps4.

    I have thought about doing but don’t have the time to do it.

    I don’t know anyone that uses periscope.

    Like

  5. I do not use Periscope, although I did download the app and create an account about a year ago – the concept seemed rather interesting! I think if more friends were on there, it might have been more appealing.

    I have considered creating a live stream before, but as I grow older I have less and less time to dedicate to projects like that.

    If I were to create a live stream, it would probably be really boring.

    I have never known anyone that has used this app regularly.

    Like

    1. I agree that if more of our friends used it, it might have more appeal such as Vine or Instagram. However, it seems like I wouldn’t be interested in anything on the app because I don’t know anyone who uses it.

      Like

  6. I don’t have my own Periscope, and I don’t think I would ever do my own live stream simply because I am not good at keeping up things like that. I have had some friends that used it for church events or music streams, but I only saw the links to these streams on Twitter. However, if I was to do my own live stream, I think I would just use it to stream my friends and I having fun, hanging out, or being goofy. That’s the best part, right?

    Like

    1. I agree with you, I would not be able to keep up with my own Periscope. I would definitely not have a lot of people that wanted to watch what I had to post

      Like

  7. Do you use Periscope?
    No, I had honestly never really heard about it until this class.

    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    Probably not haha. That’s not really something I would be interested in.

    If you don’t, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
    I guess I would just make videos of my life. I feel like my life is pretty much a very funny joke, so people would probably enjoy watching me. Haha

    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    I don’t think that I do

    Like

    1. I never really heard of it either. The word kind of reminded me of Horiscopes lol so I figured it had something to do with that kind of thing.

      Like

  8. Do you use Periscope?
    No I do not.
    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    No, but I do watch vlogs, which are kind of the same thing
    If you don’t, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
    I would just do a live stream of my everyday because it’s a tragic comedy, so it would be entertaining enough
    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    No I don’t think they’ve ever heard of it either.

    Like

  9. Do you use Periscope?
    I did for like a month, but never again after that..
    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    Probably not, I watched other peoples a few times but thats about it..
    If you don’t, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
    Probably just wherever I am, I am sure it would be a pretty boring stream!
    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    My little brother used to watch peoples and I know a couple people that still have their own live stream!

    Like

      1. The ones I watched were super random. I joined in on one and it was this huge party of drunk people jumping into the pool from a roof…One was very different and was a family singing hymns in there living room…but you never know what kind of live video youre going to get until you join so it’s one big surprise!

        Like

  10. Do you use Periscope?
    –No I don’t have periscope.
    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    –no.

    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    –no.

    Like

  11. I don’t have a Periscope account, although some artists I follow on Twitter sometimes use it to live stream performances. If I had anything interesting to say, I might live stream it. If I worked for a news outlet and a breaking story happened, I might live stream about the story as information became available. Weirdly enough, the pastor of the church I interned at in Guatemala this past summer will use Periscope every now and then. He’ll live stream worship services or random events that happen at the church.

    Like

  12. 1. I’ve never used Periscope before to be honest. Some sports content producers I follow on Twitter will use it constantly though.
    2. Honestly, Periscope just doesn’t have a huge draw to me. I feel like I wouldn’t have anything interesting to say.
    3. If I had to I would say football.
    4. I don’t. I’ve never seen anyone use it personally.

    Like

  13. Do you use Periscope?
    Nope, and before this class I had only heard about it once.
    Would you ever consider making a personal live stream?
    Probably not. I hardly use Snapchat in my daily life. I can’t imagine having to actually stream a bunch of video.
    If you do, what do you think would be the topic of your live stream?
    If I ever did, it would probably be for a business I would be working for.
    Do you have any friends or family who use it?
    My best friend Emily Rankin uses it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

