LinkedIn

LinkedIn started in late 2002 with a production of people from PayPal and Social Net. They wanted to try something that would allow a company or an individual to connect like they have never been able to do before. It took the creators of LinkedIn six months before launching for the first time. The growth was slow at first with only 20 sign ups a day however, the website still looked promising. After a slow start, within the next year, over half a million people had signed up.

In 2005 and 2006 the office has moved several times and is now starting to publish personal profiles and jobs. They began to post more applications for the public to look at and think about the certain jobs they would like. Through 2005-2006, the company expanded rapidly and had already 4 million profiles, whether that be businesses and or the public. LinkedIn began to make profits from their site.

Today, LinkedIn has topped 315 million users globally which statistically is the majority of professionals.The research is not conclusive but numbers seem to be estimated between 350 to 600 million business professionals on the planet. They now reach people that love the technology, being in a community, and just being creative. The site is very interactive and is looking for many different job opportunities for the people around the world.

Linked in makes its money in a special way, Commercially LinkedIn has done really well, social site listings to start at $45 per share, and sits around the $120 mark at present.

The developers of the internet site have made the site very intrative with the different types of selections you can go into. For example if you wanted an engineer job you can go into the community section and find all the job listings from different types of engineering job sites.

Do you have an account?
Why do you think LinkedIn Boomed so quickly
Go through LinkedIn.com and find a job you want and post the one you want?
Where do you think LinkedIn is going in the next five years?

35 thoughts on “LinkedIn”

  1. Yes, I have had a LinkedIn account since freshman year. The name says it all, LinkedIn grew so quickly because once one person in a company was introduced the entire company would create an account. Word travels fast especially when things provide benefits and positive outcomes.
    I found a buyer position for Pier 1 Imports that I would definitely be interested in.
    In the next five years, I could see LinkedIn providing special outlets for applications and web interviews. It will definitely put further ease on the job search and hire process.

    Like

    1. You made a good point when you said that once one employee has it, the whole company is introduced. Such a true statement to describe the quick spread of this site!

      Like

    2. I looked on pier one as well and it had a few jobs on there. And I agree that later on it will put ease on though compitive jobs that only have a few openings.

      Like

    3. Being a buyer for Pier One would be a super cool job and you would be so good at that. I feel like you have a great eye for detail. Web interviews is an awesome idea and could open up a whole new world in online business.

      Like

  2. Yes, I do have account.
    I think people saw it as a good way to make connections and get jobs more easily.
    The job I found that I would like is to work for the JDRF in Chicago.
    I agree with Ali, I think LinkedIn could become a way to have interviews and submit resumes through this social media outlet.

    Like

    1. The interview idea is an extremely interesting seeing as how I hear stories of people doing video interviews over Skype. If LinkedIn found a way to reproduce this, I have no doubt that it would grow exponentially as a service for businesses.

      Like

      1. I liked that you brought in the comparison to Skype interviews. If LinkedIn found a way to make a part of its platform specifically directed to hosting interviews, I believe it would be extremely successful.

        Like

  3. I don’t have a LinkedIn account, but I think it provides a great service. I think it most likely boomed quickly because of the job it does in connecting people to each other. People are obsessed with being overconnected nowadays, and LinkedIn is a site that does this for people in a professional light, which draws even more attention. I think in the next 5 years, the site will continue to grow in profiles and expanding the professional landscape.

    Like

    1. Do you think they will remodel the Internet site to make it easier to read?Also do you think that many others will join the LinkedIn site like yourself?

      Like

    2. Haley, the term over-connected is such a great way to describe today’s society. Any chance someone has to have any kind of relationship with another person is jumped on. Great word to use here.

      Like

  4. I have had an account since my freshman year.
    I think it offers a completely unique service compared to other social media sites. Being able to have a interactive “online resume” and connect to your professional network is a great tool for the business man or woman.
    I found a position opening as an account manager for an advertising and marketing company.
    Throughout my time on LinkedIn I’ve seen some cool features they have added and optimized. I think if they keep this up, the platform will continue to grow.

    Like

    1. I agree with you! It’s cool to have a interactive “online resume” that you are able to easily keep updated. LinkedIn really is a great tool for a business man or woman!

      Like

    2. It seems like something LinkedIn does really well is organizing your resume and putting it out there for the world to see. I think this is one of the aspects that allows it to grow.

      Like

    3. I agree, Lauren. I think the idea of an online resume that can connect you to a future employer is pretty awesome. It has really helped businesses be able to find eligible employees quickly.

      Like

    4. Though I don’t have an account, I agree that having an “online resume” at your disposal would be incredibly useful in connecting with potential employers!

      Like

  5. I have a LinkedIn account. I think the site boomed so quickly because people saw it as a great way to network with others as well as find future career opportunities. I found a marketing position that I would be interested in. I think that LinkedIn will continue to grow and will make it easier for people to find jobs.

    Like

    1. Agreed about the boom won’t stop until all of the jobs run out and that will never happen. Also what company is the marketing position for?

      Like

  6. No I do not have an account, but I have been meaning to make one. I think LinkedIn boomed so quickly because people were able to network better. It was easier to find jobs and put out information about yourself. I think LinkedIn is going to keep growing over the next five years. People are always going to want to find jobs. So there will be no reason for it to ever stop growing.

    Like

    1. I totally get the whole “been meaning to make one” thing. LinkedIn accounts are a sign that you are growing up, which may be a turnoff for young people.

      Like

    2. I’m gonna go ahead and hop on the bandwagon of people who have been meaning to make an account but haven’t yet! It seems like an incredibly useful tool in furthering your career.

      Like

  7. I actually don’t have a LinkedIn because I always perceived the site as being for someone who is older and needs to network with companies. Dr. Root has told my classes many times though that we should make one.
    I think that it boomed so quickly mainly because it is the only service of its kind and has no real competition in its field of social media.
    I found a Customer Community Strategy & Operations Manager job in California that looks pretty interesting.
    In the next five years, I see LinkedIn staying where it is but only with more members that span a more diverse age range.

    Like

  8. I do not have an account.

    I think that LinkedIn has boomed so quickly because it connects people interested in the same thing – business, which is something that is a lot harder to do on other platforms like Facebook and Twitter.

    I found a job as a CEO.

    I think LinkedIn may become the standard for finding a job.

    Like

    1. I guess you are starting off well in the world if you can get that job. Also what company is giving that job away? Another it just might be the standard later on down the road.

      Like

  9. Do you have an account?
    I do have an account.
    Why do you think LinkedIn Boomed so quickly?
    Because it is actually use and can used directly in finding a job.
    Go through LinkedIn.com and find a job you want and post the one you want?
    I found a coffeeshop barista job that looks fun.
    Where do you think LinkedIn is going in the next five years?
    I think it’ll boom really big or just decline like the others because people got bored.

    Like

  10. Do you have an account?
    I do! I shivered at the thought of getting it though because LinkedIn seemed so stale. It’s actually so full of life!

    Why do you think LinkedIn boomed so quickly?
    It fills a certain niche, but at the same time it’s something everybody could use. In this socially-powered Internet era, employers want to see what you’ve been up to and get a snapshot at your experience. LinkedIn provides a cohesive platform for this.

    Go through LinkedIn.com and find a job you want and post the one you want?
    Senior Video Producer with Roku!

    Where do you think LinkedIn is going in the next five years?
    Refining itself, making it have more universal appeal, especially to younger users. The app experience is actually really nifty, and I think that’ll be it’s biggest draw.

    Like

  11. I haven’t ever had an account to LinkedIn!
    I think the reason why LinkedIn caught fire is because it is what it says it is; LINKEDIN. In our society, people hate to be left out for any reason, so I do believe that they all wanted to be ‘linked in’. This also helps with the problem of jobs, which is a national topic.
    I found a job as a Lawyer’s Secretary!
    I think LinkedIn will grow just because the upcoming generations are so tech savvy that they won’t look in a newspaper to find job listings. They’re going to go to google and type it in, and LinkedIn will be the first thing they click on.

    Like

  12. I do not have an account, although I probably need to. I think it blew up so quickly because people saw it as an easy and efficient way to network and make connections. LinkedIn will probably continue to grow over the next five years, because people will always need jobs and will always be seeking out the connections necessary to find one.

    Like

    1. I’ve had an account for years, but just in the last few months started to put it together. So don’t feel bad haha!

      Like

  13. I do have a LinkedIn account. I still don’t quite know how to use it as well as I should, but it is very interesting that we can connect with people in different businesses. It is a good tool to have in order to one day land a job.

    I think it was made a great impact on the society because we don’t have a social media that specifically tailored to people connecting with others because of the field of work that they are in. There is a high demand for businesses to expand and for people seeking employment throughout the entire world.

    Integrated Social Media Coordinator for Michael Kors

    I think LinkedIn will become more easy to navigate for everyone. Although it is pretty simple, there are still some things that can be more readily available to the users.

    Like

Leave a Reply

